Sexting Laws in West Virginia
Sexting Laws in West Virginia:
Like several other states, West Virginia does not yet have a law specifically for sexting. Any individual caught sexting sexual explicit images is charged under the state’s child pornography laws.
However, West Virginia child pornography laws are not as strict as the child pornography laws in other states.
Under West Virginia child pornography laws, any person regardless of age caught producing, distributing, or possessing images or videos containing minors engaging in sexual activity is charged with a felony. If convicted, the individual shall face a fine up to $2000, up to two years in prison and must register as a sex offender.
Exemption is not available for minors caught sexting sexual images to other minors.
- Charged with a felony.
- Up to 2 years in prison.
- Up to $2000 in fine.
- Registration as a sex offender.