Sexting Laws in Virginia
Sexting Laws in Virginia:
Currently, Virginia does not have a separate law for sexting. As a result, any person regardless of age caught producing, distributing and/or possessing images or videos containing minors engaging in sexual act is charged under the state’s child pornography laws.
Under these laws, the individual is charged with a felony. If convicted, the individual faces jail time of up to 30 years in prison and must register as a sex offender.
Exemption is not available for minors who sext sexual images to other minors.
- Charged with a felony.
- Up to 30 years in prison.
- Must register as a sex offender.