Sexting Laws in Vermont
Sexting Laws in Vermont:
In Vermont, sexting sexual images is a crime and Vermont has a special law for this crime.
Under Vermont’s sexting law, a minor caught sexting sexual images is charged under the state’s family court. The individual is required to complete a diversion program then the case is dismissed.
Under the state’s diversion program, the individual is required to perform community service and in some cases, the individual is required to pay restitution to the victim and attend educational classes. After the completion of the diversion program, the case is dismissed and the individual is not required to register as a sex offender like under the state’s child pornography law.
Exemption is available for adults if the minors knowingly and/or voluntarily sext sexual images to such persons. In such cases, the adults would face up to 6 months in prison and up to $300 in fine. The adults are not required to register as sex offenders.
- Charged under the state’s family court.
- Must complete a diversion program and upon completion, case is dropped.
- Adults who receive sexual images from minors can face up to 6 months in prison and up to $300 in fine.
- Not require to register as a sex offender.