Sexting Laws in Oklahoma
Sexting Laws in Oklahoma:
Oklahoma lawmakers have been working on getting a bill passed to reduce the punishment for teens sexting from a felony to a misdemeanor. This helps teens avoiding having to register as sex offenders.
The bill has not been signed into law so any minor caught sexting sexual images at the moment is charged under the state’s child pornography laws, punishment of up to 20 years in prison and must register as a sex offender.
If the new bill is signed into law:
- First offense: a misdemeanor, up to 6 months in prison and fines.
- Second offense: a misdemeanor, up to 1 year in prison and fines.
- Third offense: a felony.
Ohio child pornography laws:
- Charged with a felony.
- Up to $5000 in fines.
- Up to 20 years in prison.
- Registration as sex offender.