Sexting Laws in Missouri
Sexting Laws in Missouri:
Missouri is one of the very, very first states that passed laws to protect minors from the sexting problem.
Back in 2009, recognizing the need to protect minors avoiding them to have to unnecessary register as sex offenders, Missouri lawmakers passed a bill to separate the sexting crime from the child pornography crime.
The new bill reduced the punishment from a felony to a misdemeanor and does not require minors to register as sex offenders.
Adults who are over 18 years of age and sext with minors are charged under the child pornography laws. If convicted, they are charged with a felony and must register as sex offenders.
- First Offense: Charged with a class A misdemeanor; punishable up to 1 year in prison and $1000 in fine.
- Second Offense: Charged with a class D felony; punishable up to 4 years in prison and $5000 in fine.
- Must disclose the crime when applying for schools or jobs.