Sexting Laws in Mississippi

    sexting laws in mississippiSexting Laws in Mississippi:

    Recognizing the need to protect minors from the sexting problem, Mississippi lawmakers proposed a bill to separate the sexting crime from the child pornography crime. Sadly, the bill never became law.

    As a result, any person, regardless of age, found creating, distributing, or possessing images and/or videos containing minors engaging in sexual activity is charged under Mississippi’s child pornography laws.

    If convicted, the individual shall face jail time of up to 40 years, up to $500,000 in fines and must register as a sex offender.

    Exemption is not available for a minor who shares his/her sexual images with another minor regardless if they consent to the act or if they are in a relationship.



    • Charged with a felony.
    • Up to $500,000 in fines.
    • Up to 40 years in prison.
    • Registration as a sex offender.


    Sexting Laws in The United States: