Sexting Laws in Minnesota
Sexting Laws in Minnesota:
Minnesota currently does not have a separate statue to address the sexting crime. As such, any person found producing, possessing and/or distributing images or videos containing minors engaging in sexual activity is charged under the state’s child pornography laws.
If found guilty, the individual shall face prison time of up to 20 years, up to $20,000 in fines and be required to register as a sex offender.
Exemption is not yet available for minors sexting sexual images with other minors. Minors are charged under the child pornography laws, the same as adults.
- Charged with a felony.
- Up to $20,000 in fines.
- Up to 20 years in prison.
- Registration as a sex offender.