Sexting Laws in Michigan
Sexting Laws in Michigan:
In Michigan, sexting is a crime and Michigan does not yet have laws specifically for this crime.
As such, any person regardless of age found producing, distributing or possessing images or videos of minors engaging in sexual explicit stage is charged under the state’s child pornography laws.
If convicted, the individual shall face up to 20 years in prison, up to $100,000 in fines and be required to register as a sex offender.
Exemption is not yet available for minors caught sending sexual images to other minors.
- Charged as a felony.
- Up to $100,000 in fines.
- Up to 20 years in prison.
- Registration as a sex offender.