Sexting Laws in Louisiana
Sexting Laws in Louisiana:
Louisiana is among one of the few states that passed laws specifically to protect minors against the sexting problem.
Under the new laws, minors can receive counseling or community service for sending sexual images instead of a felony like under the child pornography laws. The individual will however be required to disclose the crime when applying for schools or jobs.
If the minor keeps sexting, a second offense will result in jail time and fines.
Adults who sext with minors are however charged under the original child pornography laws which will result in fines, jail time and registration as a sex offender.
- A minor found creating/taking sexual images of himself/herself will receive counseling.
- A minor found distributing/possessing sexual images of other minors will receive a jail time of up to 10 days and up to $250 in fines.
- A second offense will result in up to 30 days in jail time and up to $500 in fines.
- A third offense will result in 6 months in jail time and up to $750 in fines.
- Minors shall avoid jail time by completing community service option.
- Disclosure of crime when applying for schools or jobs.