Sexting Laws in Arizona

    sexting laws in arizona

    Arizona Sexting Laws

    Sexting Laws in Arizona

    Arizona is one of the current few states which has laws specifically for sexting to protect minors. Under the Arizona sexting laws, minors who sext sexual images with other minors face from petty offense to class 2 misdemeanor. Depending on certain circumstances, jail time may apply.

    The above exemption does not apply to adults who are over 18 years of age and sext with minors. Adults over 18 years of age and sext with minors will face the original strict child pornography charges.



    • If a minor sext sexual images to one other minor: petty offense or infraction. If convicted, the minor will be required to complete diversion program to perform community services and maybe attend educational classes.
    • If a minor sext sexual images to more than one person or post on a website to be viewed by people: class 3 misdemeanor. Fines include up to 30 days in prison and/or $500.
    • Repeat offenders: class 2 misdemeanor. Charges include up to 4 months in jail time and/or $750 in fines.

    In general, minors do not face charges if they report the incident to adults, take reasonable steps to destroy the images sent, or do not forward the images to another person.


    Sexting Laws in The United States: